26 November 2015 » Coromandel > History
/\St Colman's Parish, Coromandel
St Colman’s, Coromandel is one of the oldest parishes in the Auckland Diocese. Before gold was discovered in the 18oo’s, Coromandel’s main trade was kauri. An American Catholic, William Webster established himself in Coromandel and was visited by Bishop Pompallier in 1841. After 1852 there was a minor goldrush and many Irish Catholic miners were there. Bishop Pompallier re-visited again in 1863 and then Coromandel parish was established in 1865. As well as a small chapel in Driving Creek a church was completed and blessed by Bishop Croke, Auckland’s second Bishop. He named it after his old parish in Ireland—St Colmans.Archbishop Thomas Coake.gif

Archbishop Thomas William Croke, 1824-1902, was appointed Bishop of Auckland in 1870. In 1875 he returned to Ireland as Archbishop of Bashel and Emly in Tipperary and later became a powerful figure in Irish politics at the end of the 19th century. Croke Stadium in Dublin was named after him, and he was the first patron of the GAA.

St Colman became the third Abbot-bishop of Lindisfarne in 661 succeeding Sts Audan and Finan. He supported catholic customs in such matters as the dating of Easter. In 664 at the Synod of Whitby it was voted to follow Roman practices. Colman then resigned and returned to Iona with his Irish monks and 30 English monks. He then decided to settle in Ireland at a new monastery in Irishbofin and island off the coast of Galway. He settled a dispute between the English and Irish monks be establishing a new foundation for the English on the mainland. He died in Irishbofin in 676. his feast day is in October.

/\Croke Park - Ireland
The site upon which Croke park now stands was originally owned by Maurice Butterly in the 1870's and was known as the "City and Suburban Racecourse". The GAA became one of the grounds most frequent users and in 1908 Frank Dineen purchased the 14-acre site for the handsome sum of £3,250. The GAA subsequently purchased the site from Frank Dineen in 1913 for £3,500 and immediately renamed the ground Croke Park in honour of the association's first patron Archbishop Croke of Cashel.

Over the subsequent 40 years Croke Park was developed and redeveloped in an ad hoc manner as finances allowed. The Railway End, also known as Hill 16 was constructed from the rubble left in Sackville Street (now O'Connell Street) after the 1916 rising. The first Hogan stand (named after Tipperary footballer Michael Hogan) was built in 1924 and followed by the construction of the Cusack stand (named after one of the original founders of the GAA Michael Cusack) in 1937. The Canal End terrace was constructed in 1949 and was subsequently followed by the construction of the Nally stand (Named after Pat Nally) in 1952. Since these initial buildings, reconstruction and redevelopment of various sections of the ground have taken place.